SWFL nest.. when watching the cams gets really, really hard

SWFL

Playing out at the Southwest Florida Nest (link: http://www.dickpritchettrealestate.com/eagle-feed.html) is a situation that I think for so many is very difficult or even impossible to watch.  The older eaglet E3 has been very aggressive toward its sibling E4.  We are used to some beak bonking, but at this nest things have taken a much more serious turn.   I felt it important to report it, as it is news on the nests.

It is generally understood that this can happen when food is scarce, which I understand it has been the past few days, or when there is something physically wrong with the little one.  Today, there is food on the nest, and as I look now, E3 is zonked out in a food coma, and E4 is calling for a parent to feed, to no avail.

This is nature, raw and uncensored, and sometimes, if you are like me, almost impossible to watch, and so other than checking in to get a status, I don’t.  Maybe that makes me weak, but humans operate and feel, as humans will do, and for me that means stepping out for a bit when things just get to hard to watch.   My best thoughts go to both eaglets on the nest and all who love this nest (I do too – I was one of the first 4 people to “follow” it on ustream when it first came online).  I love so much what we see and learn on all of the nests, but in my humble opinion, its also okay to just be human and understand that eagles must be eagles, and adjust as needed.  I won’t get into the rescue or not rescue debate, but I do understand so much how very hard it can be.

16 thoughts on “SWFL nest.. when watching the cams gets really, really hard”

  1. In fort Myers Florida is there anything that could b done to help the runt eaglet the other eaglet seems to have died I haven’t seen the mother I think she has abandoned them its so sad I wish it could b rescued

    1. I know it is hard, but please try not to worry. My understanding is that E4 (the remaining eaglet) has eaten a couple of times today. I’m sure that the parents won’t abandon the eaglet, especially since the older one has died. The eagles purpose in life is to reproduce and bring new strong eagles into the world, and they are very experienced eagle parents. So I am sure that they will do everything they can to help the smaller one grow big and strong. Nature can be hard sometimes, but the eagle parents will do the best they can.

  2. Twizz,
    I agree with everything Sandy said on 1/16/14. By the way, my name is also Sandy, but we are 2 different people. This SWF nest was such a happy place to be last year. There was bonking that when on, but nothing like this year. Honor found a way to get fed. This nest was my very 1st experience. I found my way to your great site because I wanted to find out if there were other eagle cams. You provide all of us such a great service. I cannot regularly watch this nest anymore. That’s why I appreciate this update. And, as Sandy said, with your information we can make on own decisions if we want drop in on that nest or not. I have learned that Mother Nature can be cruel and I just can’t watch a negative situation. To the naked eye, it doesn’t look like anything is wrong with E4. Because of that, I can’t help but wish he would be rescued. I was in Ft Myers from Thanksgiving thru New Years and didn’t hear/read about a problem with getting food. But, I don’t know what the eagles know. So, for now I count on you for information on this nest and others. Twizz, please keep up the great work. I appreciate you and all you do. Thank you.

    Sandy in Omaha, NE

    PS I do love the new NEFL nest. Those 2 lets are well fed.

    1. Thank you so much “Sandy in Omaha” for your kind words! 🙂 It is so amazing how things can change from year to year at the nests, even with experienced eagle parents like they have at the SWFL nest. I enjoy the NEFL nest too, love the cameras there, so amazing clear and the eagle family is fun to watch. Twizz

Leave a Reply

