An hour of drama at the Berry nest as parents protect eaglet from intruder!

This morning, a sub-adult eagle landed in the nest tree at the Berry College nest, sending mom Berry into full protective mantle.  The young eagle stayed for over an hour keeping the Berry parents in high alert and protective mode.  I did not see the event, but there are wonderful postings and pictures as it all unfolded at the Hancock Wildlife Forum.  Here is a link to the forum page where the story begins.  http://www.hancockwildlife.org/forum/viewtopic.php?showtopic=568593&mode=&show=8&page=226   Eventually the intruder left and all seems calm again.

1 thought on “An hour of drama at the Berry nest as parents protect eaglet from intruder!”

  1. I was watching as this happened! Talk about a nail biter! I’m not sure if people realize that Mom Berry stepped on the eaglet in two different ways when this was happening. I don’t think she realized it and it was torture waiting for her to move! (I was more worried about her squishing the baby than I was about whatever had her alarmed…) I have some s’caps of her stepping on the eaglet on my blog and you can see it in the first few minutes of the video posted by eaglewhisperer18.
    You have an awesome blog! I really appreciate having such a great source for all things Eagle Cam!

Leave a Reply

