Should Snap be moved to a Raptor Rehabilitation center with full rehab resources?

Well, it seems this is my day to be controversial.  Not the most comfortable place for me to be, but it has been a rewarding day with all of the great info and responses I received from my earlier rant.  Now, I  have another tough post to write.   I have heard from more than one source that The Raptor Center (TRC) (where Snap is), as wonderful as they are, may not have all of the resources at their disposal that they may need to fully care for Snap.

The sources I’ve heard from are some of the most credible ones I know in the eaglecam community.   They feel so strongly, that they believe that if Snap is not moved to a full raptor rehab facility, he may die unnecessarily.  I would not make this post, if I didn’t trust the people that are concerned completely.    My wish, and I want to believe that it is also everyone’s wish, is for Snap to have the best care and chance for life.    Having said that I will list contact information for TRC below, so that if people would like to encourage them to consider all options, you have it available.   As we all know, time is of the essence, and thank you all for allowing me to share my thoughts with you today.

The Raptor Center at the University of Minnesota:

Phone: (612) 624-4745
email: raptor@umn.edu
Facebook page (to post in comments)  https://www.facebook.com/TheRaptorCenter

 

 

26 thoughts on “Should Snap be moved to a Raptor Rehabilitation center with full rehab resources?”

  1. Being a credible member of the eagle cam community I do not understand the the reasoning behind this post. To even suggest that the Raptor Center is not capable of providing the best of care to Snap is totally irresponsible on your part. Your motive seems to be that people bombard the Raptor Center with phone calls, emails and FB posts that question their abilities. Because you offer no names or places that would provide better care further questions your motives. If this post was made out of a positive spirit it has a very negative message. Maybe you should think a little longer before you post.

  2. The Raptor Center at the University of Minnesota is world- renowned. The doctors at this facility literally “wrote the book” on Raptor medicine and health. Look it up – Dr. Patrick Redig and Dr. Julia Ponder. We are very fortunate to be so close to “The Mayo Clinic” of raptor care.

Leave a Reply

